2015 High School Programming Contest

The Computer Science and Computer Engineering Department, along with Acxiom Corp. and the University of Arkansas Chapter of the Association for Computing Machinery (ACM), hosted the annual High School Programming Contest.  Dr. Wing Ning Li, professor in the computer science and computer engineering department, organized and hosted the event.

Thirty teams from eleven schools made up the 123 students and teachers registered for the contest.  Teams competed to solve as many programming problems as they could in three hours.

First place went to the team PidgetWidgetKidget from Bentonville High School.  Team Ninja Turtles from Fayetteville High School was awarded second place and Team Byte Dat from Bryant High School took third place.  ASMSA League of Dapper Gentlepersons received an award for Most Creative and Byte Me from Southside High School was awarded Most Improved.  Newcomer awards were presented to Rogers Heritage High School and Rogers High School.

While the students were competing, the high school teacher coaches held a roundtable discussion, exchanging experiences and ideas about the future of computer science education in high schools.

-May 2015